Board of Directors

Leadership and guidance is provided to Economic Development Winnipeg Inc. through its board of directors, which represents a diverse array of industry professionals who volunteer their time and expertise to ensure EDW remains accountable and performance-driven.

B.J. Reid

B.J. Reid Vice-President, Fund Services & CFO, Mutual Funds, Investors Group

EDW board role: Finance Committee member. BJ’s senior management experience in the financial services industry totals more than 20 years. She is currently responsible for the financial and management reporting and controllership functions for the approximately 160 Investors Group mutual funds. BJ is active with the Investment Fund Institute of Canada (IFIC) Accounting Advisory Working Group and has served on many of its committees. BJ is also a member of the CICA Standing Committee on Financial Reporting for Investment Funds and a director of the Winnipeg Airports Authority.

Sean Barnes

Sean Barnes Vice-President & District Manager, PCL Constructors Canada Inc.

Sean is the vice-president and district manager for PCL Constructors Canada Inc., an employee-owned company and Canada’s largest general contracting firm providing commercial, civil and industrial construction services since 1963. PCL’s recent resume of work includes the Canadian Museum for Human Rights, the Disraeli bridge project, the Royal Canadian Mint expansion, IKEA, Manitoba Hydro Place and MTS Centre.

Hipolito Alibin Jr.

Hipolito Alibin Jr. President & CEO, Alibin Group Inc.

EDW board role: Finance Committee member. Hipolito’s experience in the accounting and finance fields expand almost 20 years. He currently the President & CEO of Alibin Group Inc., a family-based venture capital. The corporation’s business model is to identify high performing and sustainable national or international consumer brands to invest in and operate. Their first investment and partnership was with Max’s Group, Inc. and is the largest casual dining restaurant company in the Philippines. He co-founded and was formerly the Chief Financial Officer of Trivenity Corporation, a business development firm fundraising for medium-to-large enterprises in private capital markets. Previously, he held the role of Chief Financial Officer, Blueprint Global Partners and prior to that he was manager, finance and administration with the Province of Manitoba–responsible for adult learning and literacy, supporting the department in making key financial and programming decisions related to adult education in the province. A founding member of the Manitoba Filipino Business Council in 2010, where he served in varied director capacities including as president between 2015 and 2017. He is also serves as director with The Winnipeg Chamber of Commerce, Financial Executives International – Winnipeg, and the Archdiocese of Winnipeg corporations.

Drew Fisher

Drew Fisher President & CEO, RBC Convention Centre

As President & CEO of the RBC Convention Centre, Drew Fisher has over 30 years of experience in the hospitality and tourism industry. He has held leadership positions at several hotels and resorts across Canada, most recently at the Fairmont Winnipeg. Drew has worked extensively with tourism organizations and in the hospitality industry.

Margaret Redmond

Margaret Redmond President & CEO, Assiniboine Park Conservancy

Margaret is the President and CEO of the Assiniboine Park Conservancy, a dynamic, private-public, not-for-profit corporation designed to operate and govern Assiniboine Park and Zoo independently from the City of Winnipeg. Prior to joining Assiniboine Park Conservancy, Margaret worked at the Canadian Wheat Board for 11 years, serving as chief strategic officer; executive vice-president, corporate affairs; general counsel; and corporate secretary. Margaret’s community work includes a term as board chair and various committee responsibilities with the Royal Manitoba Theatre Centre; board membership with the Exchange District Business Improvement Zone and the Young Associates; and membership in the United Way’s Corporate Campaign Cabinet and on the planning and allocation committee.

Jason Fuith

Jason Fuith Chief of Staff, Office of the Mayor

EDW board role: City of Winnipeg representative (ex-officio). As Chief of Staff to Mayor Brian Bowman, Jason is responsible for the oversight and management of this 11-member team and for liaising with Executive Policy Committee, City Council, and the most senior levels of City government including the Office of the CAO. Prior to joining the City of Winnipeg, Jason was a chief executive officer, technology executive, design engineer and entrepreneur in the private sector. Jason is actively involved in the community having served several years on the board of the Westdale Community Centre, including two years as president. He also served as president of the board of directors for Carriage House North and as campaign manager during Brian Bowman’s 2014 Mayoral run.

Dayna Spiring

Dayna Spiring President & CEO, Economic Development Winnipeg Inc.

EDW board role: Officer. Dayna is the president and CEO of Economic Development Winnipeg Inc. (EDW), the lead economic development agency for Winnipeg. EDW facilitates investment promotion and attraction, capacity building, tourism development, marketing and communications, and the management of market data. Dayna directs all aspects of the organization's activities. She provides leadership and strategic direction, collaborates with key stakeholders and is a driving force behind making Winnipeg a compelling choice for business and tourism.

Bill Parrish, Jr.

Bill Parrish, Jr. CEO, Parrish & Heimbecker Ltd.

Bill was elected CEO of Parrish & Heimbecker Ltd. in 1999, succeeding his father and making him the fourth generation to hold this title. P&H was founded in 1909 and is involved in many aspects of agri-business, including grain procurement and merchandising, flour milling, animal feed production, poultry farming and processing. Prior to joining P&H in 1990, Bill worked with PriceWaterhouseCoopers in three different cities: Winnipeg; Ottawa; and Johannesburg, South Africa. Bill is a past chairman and audit committee chair of the Winnipeg Commodity Exchange. He is also a past chairman of the Arthritis Society of Manitoba and the Fort Whyte Centre.

Dean Schinkel

Dean Schinkel Office Managing Partner, Deloitte

EDW board role: Chair, Executive Committee member and Finance Committee Chair. Dean Schinkel is the Office Managing Partner for the Winnipeg office of Deloitte. Dean also leads the Merger and Acquisitions and Valuations practice for Manitoba and Saskatchewan. He has extensive experience in mergers and acquisitions from strategy to valuation, due diligence, deal structuring, negotiation, and closing. Dean is currently on the board of the Manitoba division of the Canadian Cancer Society and is the past president and treasurer of the Children’s Hospital Foundation of Manitoba. Past boards he has been involved on as treasurer include the Family Centre of Manitoba, Roller Sports Manitoba and Grace Lutheran Church.

Economic Development Winnipeg

Suite 810, One Lombard Place
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Canada R3B 0X3

Report Builder

Sign up for our newsletter & blog